Coupang Sucks Customer Reviews and Feedback

From Everything.Sucks

Revision as of 10:50, 30 June 2020 by SocialTest (talk | contribs) (3 new sentences added)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)

Coupang is a South Korean e-commerce company founded in 2010. The largest online retailer in South Korea, Coupang's annual revenue exceeds US$4 billion. The company's Rocket Delivery network provides same-day or next-day delivery of more than five million unique items. Coupang claims that 99.6 percent of its orders are delivered within 24 hours.Coupang is headquartered in Seoul, South Korea, in the Songpa-gu District. Coupang also has offices in Beijing, Shanghai, Los Angeles, Mountain View, New York, and Seattle.Coupang was founded by Bom Kim in 2010. A student of Harvard University, Kim started to study for his MBA at Harvard Business School but dropped out after his first year. In November 2018, Coupang received a US$2 billion investment from SoftBank. Other major investors in Coupang include BlackRock and Fidelity.

An employee had this to say in an interview, "Mediocre, dictator-style CEO who doesn't listen to his employees and reigns top-down. Strategy that changes together with CEO's moods. Working through interpreters for most of meetings as it turns out English is not popular in Korea."

Reviews

Tell the world why Coupang sucks!
CLICK TO RATE

I certify that this review is based on my own experiece and is my opinion of this person or business. I have not been offered any incentive or payment to write this review.

Refresh

Enter Code

Former Employee - Product Manager says

"The company philosophy is "expect impossible and churn through people as they are not delivering the impossible""

Current Employee - Product Manager says

"It's the culture of 'let's burn through our teams fast' 70h weeks and it's never enough"

Former Employee - Anonymous Employee says

"High turnover all positions. Sometimes you see people leave each week. Pay is minimum wage and never more. There is no room for growth, so I suggest using this position as leverage for another more promising job elsewhere. In the eyes of Coupang, you are expendable. Full-time employees also view you the same and treat you as such. Also seems that FT employees remain in same position forever as well."

Current Employee - Anonymous Employee says

"Where do I start, management is only worried about pleasing their bosses and lining up their pockets with promotions and bonuses. It's a hierarchical culture, the values are an exact copy of Amazon values."

Former Employee - Product Owner says

"You can find the company's growth rate from publicly available sources. It's barely growing, and, the growth it does have comes from "buying customers". The Korean based retail conglomerate, which controls the vast majority of Korean retail market, woke up to the fact that Coupang is stealing their customers. Since that time, about 2 years ago, said conglomerate retailers has been bleeding Coupang dry. Given that Coupang is but a drop in the bucket, relative to the said larger company, it's not a hard task for them to do. It's for this reason that the largest US e-commerce player didn't go into the Korean market. In other words, your options have a fair chance of being worthless. Work culture is terrible. Honestly, you couldn't imagine a worse culture."

Current Employee - Anonymous Employee says

"Unrealistic expectations of middle management . Need to improve communication with remote teams. Your experience is entirely depends on your manager ."

Former Employee - Anonymous Employee says

"- management does not communicate or give clarity, gossips with other employees while excluding others - no big budget for employees' well-being and growth (aka tries to be as cheap as possible, which is unusual for Silicon Valley culture) - language barrier (you will feel more included if you are a Korean that sucks up to the bosses) - no diversity (mostly older Chinese/Indian engineers that don't like to socialize) - restrictive environment-- you will hear "SHHH!!" if you try to talk to your fellow employees so you are not encouraged to make friends. I was told that the Recruiting team had a "bad rep" for talking too loud, even though it's clearly part of their job to talk about potential hires - MANY people quit or are fired-- there's no advance notice if you are being replaced, you could walk in one day and just be fired (part of the Senior HR Management's lack of honesty and tendency to manipulate the environment). Many others have quit because they cannot handle the toxic environment - Not enough checks & balances-- there's no manager training or groups of managers working together, so one holds too much reign"

says

"Company is trying to copy amazon. Makes for a boring experience when opinions are suppressed and followed by "yeah, but how does company X (<--- insert prominent internet company's name) do it?". Even the company values are almost a word for word copy of another large e-commerce company. Quality of korea based tech staff is below average. You get a sense that you were hired to provide korean counterparts on how your former company does things. That's it."

Current Employee - Vice President says

"Slave like hours, untested leadership, draconian rules, no overtime"

Current Employee - Anonymous Employee says

"Top down decision making from CEO, not liberal, disorganized organization, Worst choice for experienced worker"

Picker/Packer/Shipper (Former Employee) says

"I hated it I wouldn’t wish my worst enemy to work ever!!!! You can’t speak to other employees or your fired you can’t have your phone on you if caught with it your fired,an the lockers aren’t set for people anyone can open your locker an take your belongings"

Imventory (Former Employee) says

"Bad management not with OSHA regulations, should be shut down ASAP. It does not let people grow at all. There is favoritism in the at company as well as them not caring for the employees. The main people that do not care about the employees is tje Staffing Agency, NELSON, Corey, and JT, as well as Lance. Horrible managers horrible ethics horrible work."

Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) says

"Horrible place to work they'll have you come in at 5:30 in the morning and you'll be done by 9 in the morning you'll never get a full day's work the overnight shift takes all the hours the people there are immature especially the females you'll end up getting into it with someone. STAY AWAY"

PICKER (Current Employee) says

"They over work you for very little pay. It was suppose to be 4 10's but once you start working its really 6 days a week. They dont care about your life outside of that place."

Picker/Packer (Former Employee) says

"At first i liked working there up until they started doing the cycle counting and the rates per hour. I was always anywhere they needed me and everyone saw that. Then once they started focusing on our production they decided to let me go because it was low. They even told me to let them know i was everywhere so my production wouldnt be a problem.well i did let them know but they still decided to let me go."

packer (Former Employee) says

"The training is a joke. They don't have a a trainer they tell some poor random employee to train you and they only do so for about less than an hour. all the managers were gone my first week so i didn't get orientation, i was just thrown into work right away with no one telling me that the warehouse is VERY hot. you have to bring your own fan if you want to not have a heat stroke. They under train so much that you have to keep asking people around you for help and when you ask the supervisor for help, he treats you like you're dumb and should already know. The actual other employees are cool mostly. Pay is poor and they expect you to work way harder with no extra pay which is ridiculous and you might as well just meet your quota since no one will recognize your hard work. ********They do not tell you the hours are whenever you finish ALL the customer orders***** and because the job sucks so many people quit constantly, therefore always understaffed and you have to work 10 hour days almost always. If you want to be overworked and underpaid, this is the job for you.free food sometimeslow pay, mandatory overtime almost everyday, understaffed, poor management"

Cherry Picker Operator (Former Employee) says

"When it comes to having a negative review, sure the company pays well but they lack the ability to help with keeping track of our time and days we show up to work. They don't care if you came to work just as long as you meet their quota and if you missed work more than three times and even though you are sick, than that is an automatic laid off. Many employees here where frustrated that we didn't even have thanksgiving off nor holiday pay for showing off, and yet the managers who forced us to show up on time such as Juan and Carlos, they take it easy while we the employees suffer everyday, and have the lack of sleep. we don't get three nor two days off every week we are working none stop, and they even harass you to work faster like a robot and the work area is unsafe and not properly clean, putting us employees at risk. trust me you are worth looking for a safe work area else where.more hours of pay for nearly $680 per weekLack of holidays off, and days off."

Worker bee (Former Employee) says

"Job culture is stuck somewhere between demanding unfriendly and hip millennial , it wants to be one of the cool kids but just can’t make it happen. High turn over at the top all the way to the bottom . Long hours are expected Steer clear of this one , not worth the time and effort lost .Paycheck and good benefitsEverything else"

Picker/Packer (Current Employee) says

"While working at coupang they would modify our breaks and lunches. They expect us to take time out of out breaks to make way to the break room. And if you dont comply the mangement will put you on grounds to be fired. So in actuality we only get about a 8 to 9 minute break because some have to wall from the other side of a warehouse just to make to break and lunch.Ping pong tableShort breaks, bosses stalk you while you work and harrass you when you convetsate while working."

Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) says

"The job was decent. It was a regular job like any other. There wasn’t anything special about it........................................................."

Picker/Packer (Former Employee) says

"Coupang is a fast paced warehouse. I had the chance to work in different departments & gain more skills & knowledge of the job. There is no benefits. Its strictly agency so a person cant be hired into the company. Most of the time we couldnt make 40 hours a week. The supervisors show favortism."

Order Picker (Former Employee) says

"Coupang is great if its your first job or you don't have alot of responsibilities. The pay is very low for being on your feet constantly in harsh conditions. Hours are inconsistent. One week you can be working mandatory 60 hour work week, the next your lucky to get 20-30hrs. There is little to no advance notice of how many hours your going to have to work. They will tell you 8 hrs and at your last break tell everyone that it now 10 and if you cant stay your docked points. . Direct supervisors are great but the big guy and hiring agency will definitely let you know how disposable you are.Smaller warehouse. Departments are easy to learn.Low pay. Inconsistent hours."

Picker/Packer (Former Employee) says

"self starting , jobs were put in your gun as soon as you start. routes and picks were given by upper management. no music, place was dusty and disorganized. we had no idea if we were working overtime until toward the end of work. trying to keep of with providing goods to another country.great coworkersbad management."

Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) says

"Just worked here for A little over a year. There is no job advancement, no promotions, no wage increase, only a revolving door of suckers like me coming in and out. If this sounds like your bag then go for it. My coworkers were awesome, but this company wasn’t"

Lagerarbeiter (Former Employee) says

"it's good place for be join in huge company but always runing out worker and everybody feel that the company treat the people as item not as human being. So many people quit very early, so cold working mood and a lot one day worker in warehoues also."

WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE/ SHIPPING CLERK (Former Employee) says

"The work was fairly easy and the hours were great. The pay just didn’t seem fair for the amount of work we did. The job was also temporary with no benefits but it was okay for the meantime."

Picker/Packer (Former Employee) says

"No real problem there its a very easy job it might seem hard but its extremely easy only thing is theyll expect you on the first day to be as fast as a vet whose been around and expect you to meet a high quota"

Order Picker (Former Employee) says

"I was hired at Coupang as a temporary Order Picker. The warehouse was fairly large, and highly disorganized. Merchandise was unsorted and tossed into cardboard boxes, making it difficult to locate specific products. The management team failed to address employee concerns, resulting in lack of regard for company core values. I would not recommend working for this company"

Warehouse Packer (Current Employee) says

"There is a cool break room and lockers you just have to bring a lock there’s not many places to eat nearby so you have to bring your lunch. The pay is pretty good but the hours are pretty demanding. If they say you have to work overtime you’re staying 10 hours that day weather you want to or not. The higher ups are questionable but there are some positive people to be around so keep them close. They have a security guard who checks you every time you go in an out of the work floor. I guess there was a lot of theft. Good payNegative attitudes from some people in leadership roles"

Director of Engineering (Current Employee) says

"It is a Korean company top down management approach. Interview is tough and expectation is high bar. Work life balance is difficult and lot of South Korea team interactions as team is based on Seoul."

Nice D says

"Been a regular support for Gmarket for a few of its korean made products and do not have problems till the beginning of covid 19 which has not hit korean yet during that time. Ordered some korean made masks and it took nearly a month to arrive. Despite several emails to the seller, I did not received any replies or notifications from them thats where I called up my credit company to cancel the order. Eventually it took 30 days to arrive instead of the 14 days and most of its reviews said it has arrived and the materials is not as good as it seems. I began to check and wanted to transfer the fund back and found out that its actually not it claimed to be. The masks was certified with korean cert, said its 3 ply surgical masks, turned out to be only 2 ply and its made in china. Worst its not water proof!! So another those made in china pirated product that do not exist again. I did not realized my account was restricted till I wanted to get a regular item from korea. This really got me mad when I appeal to the Gmarket support team about my case. And despite the effort they still restricted my account and replied the item was delivered. Despite it took 30 days!! And it was not a products it claimed to be! Nowadays what sort of Buyers Protection do we get? Again the company was owned by Ebay? Very bad management again."

julia julia says

"Don’t ever buy anything from this websites. I buy baby bed, and i even pay for additional shipping. They write it in the website that they can do shipping to australia. But after i pay for everything, they suddenly cancel it and say they can’t delivered the package because it’s too big. It’s been a few months. I didn’t even get my money back. So disappointed."

testujin28gou says

"I ordered a few items online from Gmarket's English-language web site while I was in Seoul, South Korea. The first item arrived ... DAMAGED. I had to waste my time getting a Korean speaker to negotiate the return of the damaged item to the seller, and then to request a refund. Gmarket's English-language Help (accessed via your online Gmarket account messaging area) is all but completely non-functional when it comes to settling disputes/returns, etc. in English. I was eventually refunded the price of the damaged goods several weeks later. Another item arrived about a week or so after the first item. It was not as described by the seller online, and therefore was of no use to me. It seems from the "damaged goods" debacle above, and now the "item not as described online" fiasco, Gmarket's online group of sellers includes a motley collection of less than reputable individuals/organizations. I immediately began the dreaded process of trying to negotiate the return of the "not as described online" item to the seller and ask for a refund. Again, Gmarket's Help when it comes to English-language assistance was atrocious. This process took over 2 months to have Gmarket eventually acknowledge that the item had been returned to the seller - even though I used an express courier service ("next-day delivery") to return the item to the seller - with tracking number provided by the courier service. The tracking number confirmed that the item had indeed been delivered to the seller the following day. Gmarket then suddenly wanted to issue me with only a partial refund. I refused. I insisted on a full refund. The "not as described online" item was unopened and still in its original packaging. I stood my ground. I wanted a full refund. One month later I received an e-mail from Gmarket indicating that I would be refunded the full amount at the end of the month. I waited patiently until the end of the month. What happened? You guessed it ... NO REFUND. I tried to contact Gmarket yet again via my online Gmarket account area, but all messages I sent to them were ignored. I didn't receive a single response from Gmarket to my enquiries asking them about why my refund had not been issued. I explained that neither PayPal nor my credit card company had any record of a refund having been issued. Gmarket continued to ignore my requests for information regarding the refund. Now we are about 4 months after the original purchase of the item. I then decided to submit a chargeback claim with my credit card company for the second item that was returned, and for which Gmarket claimed that they would be issuing me with a full refund. Two months after submitting my chargeback claim (and now over 6 months after the original Gmarket purchase), my credit card company issued me with the expected refund. Why did I bother with this (unnecessary) drama? Simple. I cannot abide customers (people) being subjected to disingenuous, discourteous and appalling service - whether it's by a single-person operator of a small business or a larger, well-known operator. I don't care if the item is worth 50 cents or 50,000 dollars - all people should be treated with understanding, consideration, and absolute honesty. Conclusion: DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM GMARKET. IN MY ESTIMATION THEY ARE NOTHING BUT A GROUP OF SHYSTERS. What should you do if Gmarket refuse to help you? Even if several months may have passed since your Gmarket transaction, contact PayPal and/or your credit card company (if utilized for the transaction) and initiate a chargeback claim. I will never purchase another item from Gmarket. I'd rather not have the item if I can't find it elsewhere. When you consider making an online purchase, my advice would be to avoid Gmarket altogether and purchase the item elsewhere, they don't deserve your hard-earned money ... or ask yourself if you really need the item ... or, better still, give the money you would have spent on the item to someone who is deserving of some human kindness."

lux says

"They cancel orders to prevent fraud, they say, albeit I paid with PayPal as I use for anything else and the money correctly went through. Then to get your account unblocked, you need to send your name, ID, and number. How's that even going to help to prevent fraud? Huge waste of time, and I don't like time wasters!"

Social Media

In The News

Everything.sucks is a non-profit organization and communications forum for social activism. This website allows users a voice to share their point of view online about what sucks in the world.

We occasionally buy a dot sucks domain and point it at a specific page. We do this to bring awareness to our site and because, well, we love the dot sucks domain. If you ask us if we would sell the domain, our answer is simple. Absolutely not. We will give it to you.

If the domain pointing at this page inspires passion in you and you want to build a fuller site around it, you can have it. That’s right, we will simply give it to you. We want to promote more sites on the Internet where people can share their voices.

To make it as simple as possible for you to have this domain, simply take this Authorization Code to your favourite domain name registrar, and they can transfer it right to you.

AUTH CODE: ldY;*D)JBXNNF0cC

We are all about feedback. If you have some thoughts for us, you can email us at feedback@everything.sucks